4.2

“Do you know how foolish this is?”

Grace shot Tony a patient smile as she perused the aisles of the toy store. Of course, she knew it was a stupid idea. She just wasn’t going to admit it. “It’s not like I’m the one who’s going to be giving him the present.”

“Then wh-” Tony’s jaw clenched, realizing what his friend wanted from him. “Oh no. You’re not dragging me into this idiocy.”

“Come on, Tony,” Grace pleaded. “I won’t ever ask you for anything again.” That was a lie, and the glance Tony gave her said as much. “Okay. Fine. I won’t ask you to do something as stupid again.” Another look. “Goddamnit! Fine! Just do this for me. It’s the last present I’m ever going to give my son, and I obviously can’t do it myself. Please?”

“Jesus Christ, Grace.” He ran an aggravated hand through his chestnut colored hair.“You’re going to be the death of me.”  Not exactly what she wanted to hear, but she was glad nonetheless.

“Thank you.” She practically bounced down the aisle. “I’ll make it up to you.” She would try to make it up to him, just like all the other favors he had done for her. So far, it had been nothing but an empty promise. Not without her trying. There just wasn’t a task that could make up for all he had done for her. And it didn’t help that every time she did try to do something, it just ended in disaster. Disasters that Tony didn’t witness, thankfully.

The stalker was watching. Grace could feel the eyes on her, watching her every move. The hounds were busy searching for the person, but it was useless without knowing what the person looked like. All they could do was sniff out for a supernatural being, all agreeing that it could not be a human. It moved too quick and was too well hidden.

A toy caught Grace’s attention. It was a stuffed bear. Small, about the size of a cantaloupe with silk soft brown fur. Black beads for eyes and a sewed on smile. If sat down, it would stand on all fours. Minus the fur, it was the most realistic stuffed bear toy she had yet to see. The perfect gift for Chase.

Grace froze, staring blankly at the bear. A sad smile appeared on her face, but was quickly replaced with fake joy. “You know what, you’re right Tony. This is a stupid idea.” She set the bear down and started to head out of the store. It had been hard, but she knew she had to do it.

How could I have been so stupid? I’m such a moron, she berated herself as she stomped down the street. I just put my son as risk. The agreement from the hounds stung worse than her own verbal abuse. But it had been the dumbest thing she had done in a while. Buying something for her son when there was someone following her. If they were an enemy of Lucifer’s and had already found her, they were smart enough to put two-and-two together. She didn’t know their motive, but Grace was sure it wasn’t benevolent.

When Tony caught up with her, out of breath from jogging, he grabbed her arm forcing her to stop and turn to him. “What the hell was that about?” Grace yanked her arm away from him, muttering “it’s nothing.” Turning, she started to walk away from him. “Is it about the one who has been following you?”

Mouth agape, Grace turned back to him. “How?”

“Do I really need to explain how old I am, again?” Shaking his head, he started to walk. It was Grace’s turn to play catch up. “I’ve known as soon as it started,” he told her preemptively. “They were making it pretty obvious.”

Grace tightened her jaw. The demon had more than likely known that she was being followed before she had figured it out, and hadn’t told her a damn thing. Just let her go about her business as if nothing was wrong. “Didn’t think I should know?” His shrug ticked her off even more. “Seriously? They could have fucking killed me! Why the hell wouldn’t you let me know?!”

“If I believed they were going to harm you, I would have dealt with it. They’re just observing, and I didn’t see a reason to alarm you.” She couldn’t be mad at that. It was exactly what she was doing with him. Keeping him in the dark until she figured out what the stalker wanted. To be mad would be hypocritical, and that was something she tried to avoid.

Still, she was mad at him and had to show it. “I don’t need you to protect me.” She regretted it as soon as it left her mouth. It made her sound like a pouting five year old. Enough that Tony laughed at her. She wanted to tell him to shut up, but it would only make him laugh even more. Best to keep her mouth shut.

Tony glanced at her from the corner of his eye. “Grace, you’re a strong woman, but a weak sin eater and fighter. Even lesser demons would get the better of you.”

If Grace rolled her eyes any harder, they would have gotten stuck. “I know. I know. If I didn’t have my hounds, I would be dead.” Lucifer had beat that into her head, she didn’t need someone else telling her the same thing. The only time that was not true was when she had attacked Baphomet. But that hadn’t been her, and they do not speak about it. To her, that night had never happened.

“Have you informed Lucifer?”

“No. I haven’t even seen him in a week.” That was the longest he had been gone since he started to train her, and a sick feeling was building up in the pit of her stomach. Lucifer had said he had a lot of enemies. What if one of them had finally caught up with him? How did that affect her? He was in possession of her soul. If he died, if he could die, would she die as well? She had asked him that once, and he told her it was not something he could answer for obvious reasons.

The worry was plain on her face. “I’m sure he’s fine. Angels are hardy creatures.” He grabbed her shoulder giving it a little shake. “I’m sure he’ll be popping up sometime soon.”

Tony was trying to make her feel better. Grace appreciated it, but he was wrong. “No. Something, my gut maybe, is telling me that he’s in trouble. Big trouble. And I won’t be able to help him.”

With a hand on her wrist, Tony stopped Grace. “If you’re that concerned about it, we can go see the djinni.” Iblis was the king of information. He had a way of gathering intelligence that would give the NSA a hard-on. There was just one problem with it all. He wanted payment of some sort, and Grace had nothing to give him. Something she pointed out to her demon friend. “We can work something out with him.”

Grace snorted. “Owe Iblis? You know being in his pocket is not where you want to be.” She shook her head. “There has to be some other way.”

“There is. We ourselves could ask around. By doing so, we may arouse suspicion and curiosity. If others believed that Lucifer was in a position that left him weak, they would take advantage of that. One of those ways would be harming you.”

“And you think seeing Iblis is really going to change that?” They were going to be in danger no matter what they did.

“Djinn are very discreet. They don’t like to call attention to themselves.”

Grace guffawed, and continued to laugh until there were tears in her eyes and her stomach ached. “Discreet? Is that why he owns a nightclub and dresses like a male prostitute? To be discreet?” She shook her head while wiping away her tears. “Ahh, that felt good. Thank you for that.”

Tony gave her an are-you-serious look, then shook his head as if to wipe away the expression. “Grace, he’s our only option.”

“Yeah, I know. Let me talk it over with the hounds first.” Tony gestured to an alley a few feet in front of them. Grace moved to it, leaving the demon behind. Even her hounds terrified him, no matter how much she assured him they would not attack. There is a reason why they are called irrational fears. “What do you guys think?” she asked when the five surrounded her.

I don’t like it, Father started, but we have no choice. The djinni will be able to locate Master faster than we could. Grace’s jaw clenched at the word “Master.” She hated that word.

But we will owe the djinni much, came from Mother. He will not do this out of kindness.

“Yeah, that’s the problem. We don’t have anything to give him.” She was dead, her soul already belonged to Lucifer, and there was no way in hell she was going to give him anything of the hounds. And owing a supernatural being a favor was dangerous. Djinn especially so.

Lucifer could always repay the debt. Grace turned to Sister. That had been an option that she had not thought of.

“He’s not going to like it, but Iblis would be less likely to screw him over.” As far as she knew, the two were on decent terms. She would not say good. Lucifer wasn’t on good terms with anyone. Must be hard being one of the most hated people in the world. Then again, none of the races liked each other.

I don’t think Lucifer would like that though. I mean, he might get mad at us. I would rather him not be mad. Brother had a point. There was no telling what an angry fallen angel could do. But it wasn’t like they could sit around and do nothing. Facing his wrath was worth the risk if he came out of it alive. She couldn’t take the chance of his death causing her own and wouldn’t. The hounds felt the same.

“So, we’re going to Iblis.”

Twenty minutes later Grace found herself sitting across from the djinni in his dim office, regretting her decision. At least she had Tony with her for moral support. And to do all of the talking. Negotiating wasn’t a skill she had ever thought to pick up. Never needed to until then. Maybe that was something she should look into.

Iblis’ dark eyes fell onto Grace. “The last time I helped you and your master, I ended up having to replace my carpet and a wall. Why should I help you again?”

His point was valid, but it didn’t piss her off any less. She would have been glad to leap over the table and beat the djinni into submission, but knew that would not do any good. Not only would he kick her ass, but then he wouldn’t be willing to help her either. Having Tony fight for her was not an option either, given his pacifism. So, she had to sit there, seething.

Tony went to speak for her, but Iblis cut him off. “I’m not interested in what you have to say, demon. I want to hear from her.” There was a knowing smile on the djinni’s face that made Grace’s jaw clench. She really wanted punching him in the face to be an option.

“Out of the kindness of your heart.” She couldn’t think of an actual answer and resorted to sarcasm. Not a smart move, but it did give her time to think. Even more so with Iblis laughing. An idea struck her, and she wanted to see how it turned out. “That’s right,” she started, sitting straighter in her chair, “there’s not really a lot of kindness in your heart. I can smell that.” She smirked at the djinni’s interest. “As a Sin Eater, I can smell sins. The darker the sin the sweeter the smell, and you smell really good.”

“I fail to see your point.”

“My point is, you’re not good. If you were human, I would say you’re a terrible human being. But there is some good in you, and it’s your weakness.” Iblis’ face went blank. “I think you know where I’m going with this.”

“Threatening my daughter is not going to get me to help you.”

“I’m not threatening your daughter, I’m threatening you. Think of Ashtat as collateral damage. Do what I want, and she doesn’t have to die.” Iblis blanched. Grace smiled with dead eyes, the smell of his fear making her mouth water. “What? Think I was going to say ‘hurt?’ Oh no. Desperate times call for desperate measures, Iblis. If you don’t help me, I will kill her.” The djinni went paler, if possible. “Don’t worry, I’ll make it quick so you’re the only one that suffers.”

The djinni gave a defeated chuckle. “This makes me question how great of a parent you were.”

“I don’t know if I was a great parent or not, but I sold my soul to keep my son alive. What are you willing to do to keep your daughter alive?” Her heart was thumping so hard in her chest she was afraid someone would hear it. He had to say yes. Had to. If he called her bluff, she didn’t know what she would do. You’ll have to do it, she told herself. You’ll have to kill her. Please, don’t make me kill her.

Iblis’ face was a mask as he thought through his option. It was taking too long for Grace, and had to fight the urge to shift in her seat or to look down. Even if she was screaming on the inside, her face needed to remain blank her breathing calm. A lot harder than she had believed it would be.

“All right, I’ll help you.”

Grace nearly sighed in relief, and opted for a smile instead. “Good. I’ll stop by tomorrow to see how things are going.” She stood to leave. Tony did so as well, amazement clear on his face.

“It’s going to take longer than a day to find out where he is.”

“I know. This is the only way that I can contact you and vice versa. I’ll be here every night to check in. Don’t worry, I won’t rush you.” She didn’t need him thinking there was a deadline and rushing to find Lucifer. Rushed people tend to make mistakes, costly ones. A life, or two, might very well hang in the balance. Mistakes could not be afforded.

“I would advise not coming alone. I might kill you.”

Grace shrugged her shoulders. “You can try,” she said and then left.

Despite the heat outside, Grace was shaking. her heart pounded against her chest and her breathing erratic. Never would she had believed threatening someone would give her such a rush. She wanted to run, cackling with joy. She wanted to skip and leap down the street. But mostly, she wanted to hunt. Tearing her teeth through flesh and bone would elate her further. The hounds were game, though hunting for sport was not in their nature.

All that was ripped away from her when Tony yanked her arm, forcing her to face him. “What the fuck do you think you’re doing?” His breathing was just as heavy as Grace’s was, though for a different reason. “Are you trying to make more enemies?”

Grace pulled her arm from him. “No.” So much defense in that one word.

“Your actions speak otherwise.” Tony ran aggravated fingers through his dark hair. Do you even know who you threatened?”

“A djinni?” What did it matter? She got what she wanted out of the deal. They were one step closer to finding Lucifer. Tony growled, and Grace’s eyes narrowed. She was starting to get just as frustrated with him as he was with her. “Why don’t you just fucking tell me then?” she spat. This little exchanged needed to end soon. Otherwise, Tony was going to get hit.

“Iblis is not just a djinni. He’s the leader of them. The most powerful djinni in the world, and you just threatened to kill his daughter.”

That got a reaction out of the Sin Eater, but not the one that he had hoped for. “So? The last time I checked, he couldn’t use magic unless someone wished for it.”

Tony balked, not expecting Grace to know that. “That’s true.” He had more to say, but Grace cut him off.

“Then what do I have to worry about?” She paused for a moment, waiting for an answer. When it didn’t come, she began again. “Is he going to send someone to kill me? Because if he did, Lucifer would have his head and we all know it.” She may hate the fallen angel, but Grace knew he would protect her. He didn’t make her into a Sin Eater for her to end up dead.

“And how exactly will he protect you if he is in trouble?” A valid point, and one Grace didn’t have an answer to. All she could respond with was an eyeroll and “whatever” muttered under her breath. The triumph was visible on Tony’s face, which pissed off Grace more. She stomped off. Tony ran down the street after her. “Grace,” Tony started, reaching for her.

She slapped his hand away and turned to him. Her eyes were slits and her jaw clenched so tight it was painful. “What Tony?” she hissed. “What do you want?!” If it hadn’t been for her clenched jaw, she would have been shouting. Not that there were many around to hear her.

“I want you to be cautious. You’re-”

“Weak.” The heat in the word could rival the flames of Hell.

“That’s not-”

“Don’t give me that bullshit. It’s exactly what you were going to say. It’s what you keep reminding me of. ‘You’re a strong woman, but a weak Sin Eater’ or you like to say.” She walked off, afraid of what else bitterness would make her say. Being weak was not something she was accustomed to, and being reminded of it on a near daily basis didn’t make things any better.

Tony called after her several times, but she kept walking. There was nothing more she had to say. Nothing more she wanted to hear. Just wanted to get to her apartment and be alone (to pout). Though she was never truly alone. The hounds were always there, at the back of her mind. They were a comfort. Unlike Tony at the moment. He was still calling to her, feet pounding against the pavement. Any moment and he would catch up to her, not that she was making it difficult.

I could get rid of him, Alpha, Brother said, baring his teeth in a grin. Wouldn’t even have to hurt him. If Tony spotted one of the hounds, he would take off running without thought. It was tempting, but Grace declined, disappointing the young hound. As funny as it might have been, Tony was still a friend. She couldn’t bring herself to purposely scare him, no matter how angry he had made her. Party pooper. Grace gave a light chuckle and shook her head. Brother always wanted to play some kind of trick. He enjoyed scaring people.

Grace sighed and stopped, allowing Tony to catch up. “Look,” she started turning to him, “I’m only going to say this once. I’m weak. I know that, and I hate it, but there’s nothing I can do about it. I can only hope I get stronger and rely on Lucifer to protect me until then.” The words left a bad taste in her mouth, but they were true.

“But I’m not going to let that weakness stand in my way. I”m going to live this life, and I’m going to live it my way. I will do anything to protect myself, and if that includes threatening the ruler to the djinn I’ll do it. I’ll threaten and kill anyone I have to to stay alive.”

“What about your son?”

Grace stepped closer to Tony. “If anyone threatens my son, I’ll tear their heart out.” Her voice was low, her tone dangerous. She left having nothing else to say.

“I mean what would he think,” Tony muttered to himself. Grace’s keen ears picked it up all the same. I’m dead to him, why would he care? A thought she couldn’t bear to say aloud.

“We should go home. It’s getting late.” The night was still early, Grace no longer had the drive to stay out. She also had the feeling she was going to need the rest. Tomorrow was going to be a big day.

Leave a comment